The York Region Violence Against Women Coordinating Committee
 
The York Region Violence Against Women Coordinating Committee. The mission of the YRVAWCC is to promote a collaborative and effective response to the violence against women in York Region.
  About Us
  Am I Being Abused?
  How Can I Help?
  Emergency Information
  Protocol
  Upcoming Events
  Links/Resources
  Community of Women Advisory Committee
  Feedback
  WSN's 2010 Walk
  Contact Us
 
Here is some important information on clearing your web browser’s
history of recently
viewed websites.

Click Here »
 
 

Clear Your Tracks

» Erasing Your INTERNET Tracks

» For Internet Explorer Users

» For Netscape Navigator Users

» Caution


Erasing Your INTERNET Tracks

If there is a concern that someone will trace your tracks while on the internet and discover what sites you have visited – follow these steps to reduce the chances of your internet tracks being followed.

Anyone who has access to your PC can see, by clicking on the arrow on the right-hand edge of the Address box in Internet Explorer, some of the Web sites you have visited. This is your browsing history. An intruder can get a specific idea of the sites you have surfed by looking through the Temporary Internet Files folder. Copies of every site and page you have visited are saved here as files. Protect your privacy. Erase your history and your temporary files by doing the following:

1. The first thing to erase is the "CACHE" where the computer stores copies of files you've looked at recently with your browser. This will be a directory that will have various files stored in it. You will want to erase all of those files.

2. The second thing you need to erase is your HISTORY LIST. This will be a single file containing the addresses of the places you've recently visited.

Back to top ^


For Internet Explorer users:

Open the TOOLS menu, choose INTERNET OPTIONS, then choose the GENERAL tab at the top. In the section called "Temporary Internet Files," click on "Delete Files" to clear your cache. On the same screen, in the section called "History," click on the "Clear History" button to erase your history list.

Back to top ^


For Netscape Navigator users:

Open the EDIT menu, choose PREFERENCES, choose ADVANCED, then choose CACHE. Then choose "Clear Memory Cache" and "Clear Disk Cache." Click on each of these and then hit "OK." Your cache will now be cleared.

Click on the EDIT menu, choose PREFERENCES, then choose NAVIGATOR. Select "Clear History" then choose "OK". Your history list will now be erased.

You may also need to clear your location bar list. Open the EDIT menu, choose PREFERENCES, then choose NAVIGATOR. Click on the "Clear Location Bar" button at the bottom of the window, then choose "OK".

Back to top ^


CAUTION:

When you clear the cache and the history list, you erase ALL information that had been previously stored there. If your partner notices that the cache and history list have been deleted, he will realize that you know how to delete your tracks as well as possibly thinking that you have something to hide.

A way to avoid suspicion is after clearing the CACHE and HISTORY LIST spend some time visiting sites that you think your partner wouldn't object to. This way, the cache and history list start to get filled up and your partner might be less likely to notice that old information is missing.

Back to top ^